Give Them What They Need, Not What They Are Asking For.

As an Agile Coach, I often come across situations when a team member, leader or an entire team reaches out to me asking for a very specific tactical support. I hear things like: “I believe our team has lack of psychological safety so we would like to ask you to deliver training on psychological safety for us.” or “I spoke to the folks from other team and they were really happy about your Kanban training. I think learning and using Kanban would be valuable for our team too. Would you be able to train us on that?”

It is natural for action oriented people to jump into answers and solutions before trying to sit back and assess the situation and the need from a bigger picture perspective. What is the risk with this solution driven approach? You may end up giving them what they want, but not what they really need.

The good news is that they come to you as their coach so you’ve got a great opportunity to influence what support they’ll receive from you at the end. What can you do to find out what they really need instead what they are asking for? It’s very simple – you need to take time and a few steps to assess the team’s or individual’s challenge and situation.

A few simple steps to assess team’s or individual’s needs well