Interview: Ludwi Samoen, Midtrans On Different Roles And Agile Mindset

The following is an interview between Ludwi Samoen and myself.

Hi Ludwi, thanks for taking the time to run this interview. We have spoken a couple of times before about agility at Midtrans. You have a wide background in IT project management, working for companies like Icehouse, Samsung’s R&D labs and Telkom. My curiosity is piqued by that experience!

Let’s start with a short introduction about yourself (your role, how long you’ve been working with agile and the current company, etc)?

Ludwi: Hi Hugo. I am currently Head Scrum Master at Midtrans (don’t worry too much about the title). I am a Scrum Master on multiple products. I’ve been using Agile for about 6 years, with the last couple years being at Midtrans. Midtrans itself has been using Agile for over 3 years, but we continuously evolve our methodology, hopefully in the right direction.

The first thing that came to mind when I first saw your profile in linkedin is: your title says ‘scrum master AND project manager’. Now in the agile world, many people think ‘manager’ is a bad word. What is your view on this?

Ludwi: Both Scrum Master and Project Manager are trying to achieve the same things. They are both tasked to take whatever resource they are given in order to orchestrate the development team to produce an output that will hopefully bring value. The title project manager is a more general while a scrum master would use Scrum as an approach to meet targets.

I would understand why some would think negatively of the title manager. A manager’s task is to help stakeholders control the use of resources to provide the highest possible output. Team members don’t like the feeling of being controlled.